Board of Visitors

Rev. Brent Beasley
Mr. Tom Billingsley
Mr. Tom Chancellor
Mr. Joe R. Christopher
Ms. Linda Dame
Ms. Susan Dunlap
Ms. Virginia Estes
Rev. Michael Evans
Mr. David Finklea
Mr. Bob P. Frankenfeld
Dr. Charles Gaines (Charlie)
Ms. Ruby Henry
The Right Rev. Rayford High
Mr. Ken Hubbell
Ms. Karen Telschow Johnson
Ms. Kelly B. Keller
Mr. Mike King
Rev. Dr. Gilbert Marez
The Right Rev. J. Scott Mayer
Mr. John McKeefery
Mr. Urbin McKeever
Rev. Dr. David Mindel  (*Chair)
Rev. Deborah Morgan
Rev. Arnold Nelson, Jr.
Ms. Trudie Oshman
Dr. Steffen Palko, Sr.
Ms. Aubin Petersen
Mr. Rob Shelly
Ms. Cherie Shipp
Mr. Christopher “Topper” Sowden
Dr. Gretchen Toler
Mr. Estrus Tucker


mindelDr. David C. Mindel, Retired, Ordained Minister
Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)
Chair Brite Board of Visitors
November 2015 – April 2018

 Dr. Mindel retired from active ministry on October 31, 2006, concluding forty-two years of ministry with the last fifteen years as senior minister of the First Christian Church of Odessa–the “home congregation” where he was ordained in 1969.  Other pastorates included Texas congregations in Rockdale, El Paso, San Angelo, Dallas, and Longview.  After completing high school in Odessa, TX, he earned the Bachelor of Arts degree at Texas Christian University, Ft. Worth, TX, with majors in Speech, History, and Religion.  Graduate work included the Masters of Divinity (1969) and the Doctor of Ministry (1978), both from Brite Divinity School in Ft. Worth, TX, and a sabbatical study in New Testament at St. Andrews University in St. Andrews, Scotland (1999).  Two interim ministries in retirement included the First Christian Churches in Abilene (2008) and Lubbock (2012-13).

In addition to serving on a variety of local, area, regional and general church committees and boards, Dr. Mindel enjoyed membership in Rotary International, Lions, Optimist, and Kiwanis, was founding Board President of the Regional Food Bank in West Texas (San Angelo), and served on the Board of Directors of Juliette Fowler Homes, Inc. (Dallas).  Other past affiliations included: Medical Ethics Committee at Medical Center Hospital (Odessa), the Board of Directors for Hospice House (Odessa), the Board of Directors for Habitat for Humanity (Odessa), and Chairman of the National Board of Trustees of the National Benevolence Association for the Christian Church.  Current activities include serving on the Board of Visitors and the Alumni Board for Brite Divinity School (Ft. Worth), as well as the National Alumni Board of Texas Christian University.