Annual Awards


2018 Kenneth L. Teegarden
Rev. Robert and Gwen Bray

Rev. Robert Bray received his Master of Theology degree from Brite Divinity School in 1964. He served as pastor of First Christian Church of Freeport and First Christian Church of Bryan/College Station. Rev. B ray and his wife Gwen have been supporters of Brite for more than 37 years. They have utilized employer matching programs to maximize their contributions.


2018 Being Brite Award
First Christian Church Longview

Founded in 1875, the First Christian Church of Longview has served and ministered to its community and membership for 143 years. The church has diligently worked to follow the teachings of Jesus to feed the hungry, help the poor, visit the sick and imprisoned, and train its children and people in the love and service of God. The members and friends of First Christian Church seek to honor their past and their ancestors in the faith while looking toward a bright future serving Christ Jesus in Longview and the world. As part of that vision, they have been consistent annual supporters of Brite since 1977.

Alberta Z. Brown Distinguished Minister Award for Pastoral Ministry
Rev. Philip Jones

Rev. Philip Jones received his Master of Divinity degree from Brite Divinity School in 1978 where he was in the initial class of Granville Walker scholars. During his ministry, he served as pastor of First Christian Church of Smithfield, NC, First Christian of Luling, TX, and Central Christian Church in Austin and taught at Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary. He retired from full-time ministry in the summer of 2017 after 12 years as senior pastor of St. Paul’s Christian Church of Raleigh, NC where he led a multi-ethnic congregation and coordinated a community campus of four ethnically diverse congregations. He is currently the Transitional Pastor for Hilton Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in Newport News, VA.

Alberta Z. Brown Distinguished Minister Award for General or Institutional Ministry
Rev. Dr. Irie Lynne Session

Rev. Dr. Irie Lynne Session received her Master of Divinity degree from Brite Divinity School in 2006. She is ordained in the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) and currently serves as co-pastor for the Gathering, a new worshiping community in Dallas. Dr. Session is co-founder of POETIC, a Dallas non-profit providing evidence-based, trauma-informed services for youth with histories of sex trafficking and commercial sexual exploitation.

Distinguished Minister Award for Specialized Ministry
Rev. Dr. Jaquetta Chambers

Dr. Jacquetta Chambers received her Master of Divinity degree from Brite Divinity School in 1993. She earned a Doctor of Ministry degree specializing in Pastoral Care and Counseling in 2000. She has served as youth minister and pastor of McMillan United Methodist Church, Spiritual Clinical Specialist for Life Synch, case manager & therapist technician for MHMR and early childhood specialist for Child Study Center. Dr. Chambers is currently the Senior Chaplain at Texas Health Resources H.E.B. and PRN chaplain at Texas Health Resources Fort Worth.

Alberta Z. Brown Distinguished Minister Award for Innovative Ministry
Rev. Don Morrow

Rev. Don Morrow received his Master of Divinity degree from Brite Divinity School in 1994. He has been Senior Minister at First Christian Church of Bentonville for the past 20 years. During that time, church membership has grown from 200 to over 700 and become increasingly known for a variety of local outreach ministries. In 2003, he pioneered a satellite campus called WaterWay, which features coffeehouse worship services and serves as a host and catalyst for community ministries and multi-faith collaboration. Rev. Morrow is currently pursuing a Doctor of Ministry degree at Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley.

CLICK HERE to submit a nomination for the 2019 Distinguish Minister Awards.


1995 Martin E. Pike, Jr.
1996 Richard Crews
1997 Ora M. Shelton
1998 Hugh Baker
1999 Gilbert Davis
2000 Glenn Routt
2001 Roy E. Tomlinson
2002 Don E. McKenzie
2003 J. Sydney Carnes
2004 Oran and Charlotte Nabors
2005 Charles H. Sanders
2006 Clark Ford
2007 Art Digby
2008 Bob Coleman
2009 John T. Muir, Jr.
2010 David Mindel
2011 Eldon Irving
2012 Chris Diebel
2013 Clyde Nichols
2013 Curtis L. Keith
2014 Eugene W. Brice
2014 Anthony J. Vinson
2015 David Worden
2016 Michael Waco
2017 Cyndy Walker Twedell

1995 Ronald Somers-Clark
1996 James Moudy
1997 M. Jack Suggs
1998 Allan and Jan Eubank
1999 Janet Long
2000 Catherine J. Watson
2001 Ambrose Edens
2002 Arthur A. Hanna
2003 William R. Baird, Jr.
2004 Sidney J. Spain
2005 Feliberto F. Pereira
2006 William E. Tucker
2007 Gil Ferrell
2008 Duane Bidwell
2009 Donald B. Mills
2010 Mike Young
2011 Jim Oglesby
2012 Kathryn Williams
2014 Bryan G. Feille
2017 Robert W. Hawley

1995 Kenneth Teegarden
1996 Erline Walker
1997 W. A. Welsh
1998 Frank Mabee
1999 Roy Martin
2000 Lloyd Allen
2001 Ralph and Mary Maxine Palmer
2002 Jo Taylor
2003 Jan and Lloyd Tatlock
2004 Edward L. Dowell
2005 Belva Brown Jordan
2006 Sandy and Dan Owen
2007 Mary Luo and David
2008 Carl E. Zerweck III
2009 Robin Hoover
2010 John Butler
2011 David Owen
2012 Betty Youngman
2013 Gail and Wayne Long
2015 Mack McCarter
2016 Dorothy and Lew Davis
2017 Roger W. Wedell

2008 Holly McKissick
2009 Irie L. Session
2011 Jan and Ralph Stone
2013 Ben Todd, Jr.
2016 Andy Mangum
2017 Rick Owen

2007 Edwin and Lou Michael
2008 Roy and Edna Tomlinson
2009 Ora M. Shelton
2010 Bob and Joan Floyd, Sr.
2011 Earl and Martha Bissex
2012 Gilbert Davis
2013 Paxton Jones
2014 Arthur A. and Susan S. Hanna
2015 Richard Ziglar & Peggy Ziglar
2016 Jacqueline Mehaffy
2017 Roy C. Snodgrass III

2007 First Christian Church of Lancaster, Lancaster, Texas
2008 Bethany Christian Church, Houston, Texas
2009 First Christian Church, Pasadena, Texas
2010 Central Christian Church, Texarkana, Texas
2011 First Christian Church, Odessa, Texas
2012 First Christian Church, Huntsville, Texas
2013 First Christian Church, Beaumont, Texas
2014 Richland Hills Christian Church, Richland Hills, Texas
2015 Memorial Christian Church, Midland, Texas
2016 First Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) of Granbury
2017 First Christian Church of Midland, TX